top of page
Search

Misconceptions About Down Syndrome Series - Part 1

1. Your child will live a sickly life and parents will always be overwhelmed - FALSE

My child was also born with a congenital heart defect and it was a challenge taking care of him until his double corrective open heart surgeries. Yes, it was tough, it’s all a blur now.

But while at the Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, I saw that I was one of the lucky few. Sadly, so many children with “normal” chromosomes were permanent residents at the hospital.

D It really doesn’t matter if your child has Down Syndrome or not. One just cannot predict health outcomes based on a diagnosis of Down Syndrome. Now, my son is medication free and well. Who would've thunk it? Ironically, I have made 20x more visits to the emergency room with my “normal” son.

Therefore, never judge a book by it’s cover.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Li’l Man Versus School Dilemma - A Poem About Ezra

Ezra, my laughter incarnate. He is fortunate to be Special, With his extra chromosome, I can feel his super powers! His surprise creation cracked me up. His twinsie birthday with his cousin tickled me

bottom of page